Skip to content

Snow Patrol!

January 10, 2010

I’ve received a lots of enquiries over the last few days about what is being done to grit our icy streets and pavements, and so I wanted to give you an update.

The Council (and most of the country) is now running very low on grit. Therefore, according to the Council:

– Gritting is being done on a ‘London resilience’ basis – what that means is that all A and B roads (anything coloured yellow, red, orange on a map) should be gritted. A small numbers of others, on bus routes, and required for emergency service access, are also being done.
– Street sweepers are using shovels where possible, but no grit is being put on pavements, in order to conserve supplies.
– The only way roads not currently being gritted will be added to the list is at the request of emergency services.

I’m really concerned that older people in particular may be struggling to get out for food, or to keep warm. If you, or anyone you know is in particular need, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me, and I will do my best to arrange for help. My fellow Lib Dem councillor Duwayne Brooks, and I, spent the morning clearing snow from around the Grovehill Court, in Downham, where many older people live.

I have also informed the Council about a number of roads that people have told me are particularly icy at the moment.

The weather seems to be slightly warmer (or at least less cold!) today, so I hope the problem will begin to resolve itself, but either way we will be looking into how the Council can be better prepared in future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

